Author Topic: Episode #346  (Read 4232 times)

Offline Steven Novella

• SGU Panel Member
  • Well Established
    • http://www.theskepticsguide.org
Episode #346
« on: March 03, 2012, 12:04:09 PM »
Interview with Gordon Maupin
This Day in Skepticism: Leap Year
News Items: Iceman Genome, FTL Neutrino Follow Up, More on Anti-Climategate, Drug Testing, Your Deceptive Brain
Who's That Noisy
Science or Fiction
Steven Novella
Host, The Skeptics Guide
snovella@theness.com

Offline seaotter

• Drunkenly yelling LITTLE WING!
  • Planetary Skeptic
  • My homunculus is firing rockets at Israel.
Re: Episode #346
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2012, 12:11:17 PM »
Thanks for the podcast!
"There is no use trying," said Alice; "one can't believe impossible things." Lewis Carroll

Offline Old Hoplite

• Keeps Priorities Straight
  • Molon Labe
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 02:11:30 PM »
If you didn't know, in my real life I'm a retired soldier. I attended the funeral of a fallen warrior when those idiots from Westboro made an appearance. The hateful bile thew spew made me want to go and start smacking them in the mouth. My wife, and the far more reasonable of us two restrained me.  She also reminded me that they had the right to be stupid and hateful.  In a free society we all have to put up with speech that we don't like.

I happen to be a ADW 'denialist' (although I don't like that term...it smacks of Holocaust denial, which, I suppose, is the point of those that use it).  But I would never try and silence Michael Mann, et al. Does not Heartland and those that support it not have the same right of free speech?  To lobby and influence policy? After all AGW believers do so all the time.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2012, 02:47:02 PM by Old Hoplite »
Beer is proof God loves us. Ben Franklin

Offline Steven Novella

• SGU Panel Member
  • Well Established
    • http://www.theskepticsguide.org
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2012, 02:15:35 PM »