Author Topic: US Medicare experiences  (Read 186 times)

Online Mr. Beagle

• Frequent Poster
US Medicare experiences
« on: January 06, 2017, 07:38:16 PM »
Having lived for the last eight years with an expensive high-deductible health insurance policy and some significant uncovered health expenses, I have been pleasantly surprised at my experience this last year on Medicare. Are there any other old duffers on this board with similar or contrary experiences, or horror stories from members' parents?

I currently have a basic insurance supplement to cover Part B (Part A is hospitalization and Part B is "normal" doctor expenses). I have had some doctor visits and tests (getting old is a pisser) but I have had zero bad experiences in getting the approvals I once had to get under my old plans, the deductibles have been minimal, the monthly costs are low (relatively) and the bills have been reduced to near-zero.

So I am sucking up health care to the detriment of the younger people here, but so far I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. "Single payer" seems to work pretty well so far. I think this is why even Tea Partiers are saying "Keep the government's hands off my Medicare!"

The biggest Medicare complaints I have heard are the limits on the fees doctors can charge, but the non-profit health center I volunteer for has done fine on this level of reimbursement. They even do fine under the lower Medicaid level of reimbursement, now that more low-income people are covered under Medicaid (as we hold out breath on this one).

Any other experiences?

Mister Beagle
The real world is tri-color

Offline Noisy Rhysling

• Seasoned Contributor
    • Hyperwar, WWII in Hypertext.
Re: US Medicare experiences
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2017, 08:00:16 PM »