Author Topic: Guitar Build - Partscaster  (Read 557 times)

Offline Jeremy's Sea

• Kintsukuroi, baby.
  • Frequent Poster
  • 667 - Neighbor of the beast.
    • jeremyad [sic]
Guitar Build - Partscaster
« on: January 24, 2017, 02:44:56 PM »
So I have embarked on a foolish mission - build my own guitar!
I'm no woodworker, so I am not cutting anything, but I am sourcing, painting and assembling over the next few months.

I started with a telecaster body I got for next to nothing. A Fender Made in Mexico that the guy tried to "relic." It is very uneven, even after I filled in some bigger dings, so I am using it as a test for painting. I got another neck and have a spare pickup for that one, just to have it around eventually.

I got a Jazzmaster style body, but it's all routed for Telecaster neck and electronics (except the input jack is routed for Stratocaster style). These are referred to as Jazzcasters, and I thought it would make it a little more unique. I'll be putting in Harmonic Design Super 90 pickups, which are basically P90s stacked into a Tele form factor.

I also got a 28.5" scale Stratocaster neck, to make this a baritone build (that's why the body looks small) and the guy cut a tele pocket heel into it. I just have ti install tuners and set the nut eventually.

I think I have settled on Duplicolor Magnetic Gray Metallic paint for the Jazzcaster. The Tele is going to be Metallic Black with a Silver Speck strip.

So far the Tele body has required far more primer and sanding than I had hoped, but it is evening out a bit. At some point I'll cut my losses on the flaws and just hope it fades a bit under the paint.

Hopefully I will have more updates sooner rather than later!
Knowledge is power. France is bacon.

Offline Jeremy's Sea

• Kintsukuroi, baby.
  • Frequent Poster
    • jeremyad [sic]
Re: Guitar Build - Partscaster
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2017, 11:23:42 AM »