Author Topic: Why is Harrison Ford still flying?  (Read 2375 times)

Offline His Noodliness

• Off to a Start
Re: Why is Harrison Ford still flying?
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2017, 11:26:56 AM »

Are you really a pilot?  Mistaking a taxiway for a runway is unforgivable.  Do you really believe it's ok to land on a runway when it's occupied by another aircraft?  If you believe that you deserve to lose your pilot's license.  "Shit happens"?  I hope I never end up flying with you at the controls.

Yeah, I'm really a pilot. Yes, it's unforgivable and I have not made the same mistake again. I only "lined up" with the taxiway for a moment. I'm pretty sure I would have caught my mistake if my brother had not piped up first. Alas, like this Ford case, there was no danger to anything but my pride as there were no other planes in the vicinity. Ford flew his plane 100 feet OVER the airliner rather than 100 feet BESIDE the airliner--same risk to the passengers on the airliner. It's a big damn jet siting on the runway. Quite easy to not run into.

I'm sure he feels like a complete idiot but, again, there was NO ADDITIONAL RISK to anyone one the ground. I'm sure this happens all the time but no one knows about it until an A-list celebrity makes this mistake.

If you've ever done something stupid, you'd understand.

Bottom line is that

Offline Andrew Clunn

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
  • Aspiring Super Villain
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2017, 12:36:07 PM »
Wow, this was a lot worse than the initial new report.
I agree with Clunn, which makes me feel all weird inside.

Offline estockly

• Stopped Going Outside
« Reply #17 on: February 16, 2017, 12:56:15 PM »

Are you really a pilot?  Mistaking a taxiway for a runway is unforgivable.  Do you really believe it's ok to land on a runway when it's occupied by another aircraft?  If you believe that you deserve to lose your pilot's license.  "Shit happens"?  I hope I never end up flying with you at the controls.