Author Topic: Using Patreon as a content creator  (Read 399 times)

Online arthwollipot

• Stopped Going Outside
  • Observer of Phenomena
Using Patreon as a content creator
« on: March 05, 2017, 04:36:51 AM »
Has anyone here used Patreon as a content creator?

I'd like to start using it to distribute the trashy fantasy novel I've been writing, but I have some questions.

I initially figured I'd be able to distribute chapters, and patrons could pay $1-2 per chapter. I'd publish a chapter a week, each paid, and then for higher-paying patrons I could do additional things - scans of my notebooks, periodic Q&As, etc. However, looking at the Patreon help files it seems that the done thing is to publish basic content for free, and only charge for additional content.

I've never used Patreon before, either as a creator or as a patron, so I don't know what "the done thing" is. Is it reasonable to ask for payment for each chapter of my novel? I was going to give away the first chapter for free, like as a teaser, anyway. But I just have no experience with the system and the culture.

Any thoughts?
« Last Edit: March 05, 2017, 05:14:49 AM by arthwollipot »

Offline random poet

• That's bullshit!
  • Well Established
  • On n'a jamais le temps, le temps nous a.
    • I have a LJ
Re: Using Patreon as a content creator
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2017, 11:06:12 AM »
What I'm noticing is that people who are already doing something which people enjoy (whether it's on youtube, or a writing project like yours) turn to Patreon because their viewers/readers are asking for a way to "tip" the content creator. Like "why don't you have a PayPall donation button or merch?" Of course with Patreon you can offer extra stuff for donators, like you said. So as far as I can tell, seems like the accepted practice is for people to do it for free and accept optional donations. Which, yeah, not great if you want to be a full-time artist.
Aujourd'hui j'ai vu un facteur joyeux.

Online arthwollipot