Poll

Which philosophy seems most logical to you of the ones provided?

Free Will
Causal Determinism as proposed by Reasonable Doubts podcast
Compatibilism (Free Will + Determinism)
Some form of Determinism I haven't listed
Other or Agnostic

Author Topic: Is Determinism the only logical choice for a naturalist/atheist?  (Read 8630 times)

Offline norcalclimber

• Keeps Priorities Straight
    • Cosher Cabinets
I have been listening to the Reasonable Doubts podcasts on Determinism lately and from a naturalist/atheist perspective it seems like the only logically consistent argument.

I'm curious as to whether this is actually the case, or if there are alternatives to Determinism which are consistent with naturalism/atheism?

I'm relatively new to philosophy and I confess I am largely ignorant of differing schools of thought within philosophy so I appreciate any feedback whatsoever.

Offline Will Nitschke

• Too Much Spare Time
  • Member: League of Extraordinarily Evil Gentlemen
    • CAPITAL Office Business Software
Re: Is Determinism the only logical choice for a naturalist/atheist?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2011, 04:33:30 PM »
My view is that Determinism confuses what some philosophers describe as Levels of Explanation. When you're trying to understand what a Chess Computer is going to do next, it's best to the analysis in terms of concepts such as intentions and strategies. It would be utterly meaningless to contemplate quantum mechanical processes. To apply physical determinism to conscious thought processes is as equally as meaningless.
Conversation is not an enterprise designed to yield an extrinsic profit, a contest where a winner gets a prize, nor is it an activity of exegesis; it is an unrehearsed intellectual adventure - Michael Oakeshott

Offline GodSlayer

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2011, 06:35:34 PM »