20 (60.6%)
Hell, yeah for the fame/infamy.
0 (0%)
Hell yeah for the chicks/boy toys.
2 (6.1%)
Hell no, I'm an artist/liar.
5 (15.2%)

Total Members Voted: 33

Author Topic: Sellout  (Read 5027 times)

Offline LeeTheAgent

• Kikyo's other husband.
  • Stopped Going Outside
  • >:/ RAWR CRIKEY!
    • Facebook
Re: Sellout
« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2008, 12:11:07 PM »
hmmm.. what's that old Iggy Pop quote about how he could care less what people do with his music as long as he never wrote it for that commercialized reason?  something about how they could use his stuff to sell peanut butter for all he cared... which only makes sense if you're familiar with his dinah shore appearance....
Iggy surpasses everything else, he doesn't count. U2 can sell out. Iggy transcends selling out. Like the Sex Pistol's Great Rock n Roll Swindle.

The Sex Pistols are a confusing bunch. As far as we know, they were totally manufactured to be a big-selling band that fit the scene. But at the same time, they were all part of the scene before the band, and at the very least wrote their own songs... And I still like their music, and movie. Can a manufactured band sill make worth-while music? I don't mind The Monkees, either. At the very least, they rebelled against their masters.
Love the Monkees too, and I'll defend them anytime... They kept writing after the show was cancelled and had some pretty trippy songs. Though their best songs pretty much were written by others, like Carol King.
An environment of pervasive credulity is incompatible with a healthy democracy.
<Kikyo> I am implying that you are sexy ;)

Offline pandamonium

• Skeptical Beer Inspector
  • Planetary Skeptic
  • they/them
« Reply #16 on: November 11, 2008, 04:53:15 PM »