Author Topic: Episode #253  (Read 13687 times)

Offline Nigel

• Seasoned Contributor
  • One man, one opinion
    • The Skeptical Review
Re: Episode #253
« Reply #30 on: May 22, 2010, 11:31:12 PM »
Bob loves Reese's Peanut Butter Cups.  I live about a mile from the Reese's factory.  I'd be happy to hook him up.  (I don't work for Hershey. But I'll do it out of hometown pride.) 

I thought the best part of this week's episode was the cult discussion.  I know the Rogues have discussed cults before, but this time seemed particularly pithy. 

Offline jawmo

• Congenitally Ostentatious
  • Frequent Poster
  • Fast 'n bulbous
« Reply #31 on: May 22, 2010, 11:39:34 PM »
I was an editor in 1986 in Richmond Va. and had close to 100 people called over the course of a week. Hardly a single person had seen Halley's Comet, nor even tried. Granted, we were in a semi-urban locale and it took pretty high-powered telescopes to see but still ... depressing. The headline I still remember writing: "Cometose."
One bonus, though, was speaking to a lady who'd seen the 1910 comet.
Objectivity is sacrificed in the service of higher goals.
-- C. Sagan, "The Demon-Haunted World"

Offline Zeno Izen

• AWESOME POSSUM!
  • Frequent Poster
  • F'ing F!!!
    • The Final Website
« Reply #32 on: May 23, 2010, 12:49:45 AM »
Audible sponsors a lot of podcasts.  If audible ever went out of business, it probably wouldn't be the end of podcasting, but it definitely would be kind of uncool.

Someone with initiative should start brokering ad spots on podcasts. 

Offline bachfiend

• Not Any Kind of Moderator
  • Well Established
« Reply #33 on: May 23, 2010, 02:20:25 AM »
"I was an editor in 1986 in Richmond Va. and had close to 100 people called over the course of a week. Hardly a single person had seen Halley's Comet, nor even tried. Granted, we were in a semi-urban locale and it took pretty high-powered telescopes to see but still ... depressing. The headline I still remember writing: "Cometose."