Author Topic: lost and found?  (Read 913 times)

Offline 0grae0

• Not Enough Spare Time
  • face-palm for the win!
lost and found?
« on: March 10, 2011, 05:34:31 PM »
wondering if anyone can give me some handy-hints.  I've been teaching myself guitar, piano and singing for a couple of years now, and while i'm no mistro, i'm alright.  Mainly i hugely enjoy playing, helps me deal with stress/bad feelings.

I didn't have much time for it last semester now, and picking my instrument back up and trying to play... i feel like everynoise i make is crap and its quite difficult to get past, especially for vocals cause i get so selfconcious as my housemates used to mention i sing well.. so i know they can hear me...

i know this is mostly cause i'm just "out of practice" but i think i'm really starting to get a mental block with it... tips?  :-\

Offline T.A.P.O.R.

• Stopped Going Outside
Re: lost and found?
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2011, 08:10:14 PM »
wondering if anyone can give me some handy-hints.  I've been teaching myself guitar, piano and singing for a couple of years now, and while i'm no mistro, i'm alright.  Mainly i hugely enjoy playing, helps me deal with stress/bad feelings.

I didn't have much time for it last semester now, and picking my instrument back up and trying to play... i feel like everynoise i make is crap and its quite difficult to get past, especially for vocals cause i get so selfconcious as my housemates used to mention i sing well.. so i know they can hear me...

i know this is mostly cause i'm just "out of practice" but i think i'm really starting to get a mental block with it... tips?  :-\

Learn carpentry, build an isolation booth.
That's my plan.

I'm really self conscious about my singing and playing too.
A few weeks ago I got to play as loud as I wanted in an iso booth and it was a huge confidence booster that nobody could hear me, so I actually performed better than usual.

Other than that, just stick with it.