Author Topic: any manly man mancave skeptics?  (Read 9283 times)

Offline TimberGeek

• Off to a Start
Re: any manly man mancave skeptics?
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2015, 01:49:35 AM »
This house has a "cold attic" the insulation is a soy based spray in expanding foam between the attic floor joists except the area where the second story bumps up to allow the stairs access the attic.  In that area I have the same spray foam between the rafters and the walls of the bump up have a combination double bubble radiant barrier and recycled blue jean insulation.

As for how long I've been a builder that's kind of hard to quantify...
  My father set up a home workshop shortly after we moved to Connecticut from Alaska (1970 or 71) so I've been exposed to tools (including chainsaws) and basic home improvements most of my life.  At ~age 13 I sketched out my first "dream house" a simple open cabin design (think Walden).  Starting in 1985 I worked for a landscape architect and did most of his stone and wood working for 9 or 10 years, he'd give me a drawing and I'd figure out how to make it work by the seat of my pants.  Mostly Japanese and Thai influenced fences, torii gates, walkways, decks and gazebos (pseudo chashitsu), we were heavy into Japanese influenced gardens some with water features and the occasional traditional European formal garden.  So I got fairly adept at working with rough wood and stone.
  I learned timber framing & timber frame engineering from books starting in ~2000, joined the Timber Framers Guild and took a couple weeks of hands on classes at Heartwood School before jumping into building the house which started with a partial "Sobon frame" I purchased on eBay in 2001.  I've been 'completing' the house and bouncing around plans for a barn/workshop ever since.  ;D

Offline GodSlayer

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2015, 02:45:04 AM »
nice.