Author Topic: Skeptoid  (Read 38468 times)

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Re: Skeptoid
« Reply #420 on: August 04, 2017, 04:06:31 PM »
Then there's also the matter of compromising the security of all those Wordpress websites that relied on his trojan horse, unwitting of the hidden functionality.

I don't believe the technique compromised the security of those web pages, I believe it exploited a hole in the security. (I don't think Trojan Horse is a good description. His faux ads did not do any harm).
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Online John Albert

• Too Much Spare Time
« Reply #421 on: August 04, 2017, 05:05:03 PM »
I don't believe the technique compromised the security of those web pages, I believe it exploited a hole in the security. (I don't think Trojan Horse is a good description. His faux ads did not do any harm).

Depends on how you reckon "harm." It's an unauthorized abuse of their system resources, and I would consider it an offense if somebody surreptitiously exploited my hardware in the commission of a crime.

Offline Drunken Idaho

• Natural Blonde
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • Comrade Questions
« Reply #422 on: August 04, 2017, 05:18:25 PM »
(click to show/hide)
I think we must be talking past each other here.  I feel I'm being pretty clear what I think is different. 

From my end, you're not as clear as you hope. Not necessarily your fault of course, but I'm reading your words and not getting the meaning you're hoping to convey. Your reaction to Brian's crime seems very arbitrary, so I'm trying to figure out your reaction.

For one, I don't think marijuana should be illegal.

Cool, so how you view punishment has to do with your personal feelings on the crime itself, not necessarily its illegality.