Author Topic: I'm a Steam Dev now: GravBlocks released on Steam  (Read 3094 times)

Offline EvilNick

• Frequent Poster
  • Cosmic Horror Show
    • From Nothing Game Studios Official
I'm a Steam Dev now: GravBlocks released on Steam
« on: December 15, 2015, 04:55:41 PM »
Hello folks!  I've talked a bit about doing game development on the side, and today, we've added another platform to our repertoire. 

My team made a match-three puzzle game, but, we went out of our way to go against the grain of other predictable match-three games.  We copied nothing from Candy Crush or Bejeweled, and while the game may not appeal to the same casual audience, it does give more dedicated gamers a unique challenge to enjoy.

Our puzzle game eschews the combo-building of other match-three games in favor of a new strategy-centric design, where players change gravity to earn score multipliers, but due to hazards in the walls, they must do it carefully and with some planning!

Our game is $3.99, but releasing for $2.99 promo price.

It has 5 gameplay modes, 8 styles of block graphics, 15 background graphics, a 30-level story mode, 150 puzzles, 80 Achievements, over a dozen unlockables, Steam Cards, Badges, Backgrounds, and Emojis.  It works with keyboard, mouse, Xbox 360 controller, and Steam controllers.

The story concept is an alien abduction scenario, but where they've "reached the limits of traditional probing," so now they task players with a variation of the match-three puzzle game design.  Because aliens are ridiculous.  The DLC is a guide for the 150 puzzles in the game, interspersed with "Factoids of Interest" about both the game and general "alien history," and since I wrote all of those segments, they're crafted from a skeptical viewpoint (complete with a reference that Ancient Aliens is 100% crap).

Find the game here:  http://store.steampowered.com/app/403300/

http://cdn.akamai.steamstatic.com/steam/apps/256659044/movie480.webm?t=1450213473