Author Topic: I'm a Steam Dev now: GravBlocks released on Steam  (Read 3092 times)

Offline Johnny Slick

• "Goddammit, Slick."
  • Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
  • Fake Ass Skeptic
Re: I'm a Steam Dev now: GravBlocks released on Steam
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2016, 06:03:07 PM »
Scrum is a form of Agile.
Speak what you think now in hard words, and to-morrow speak what to-morrow thinks in hard words again, though it contradict every thing you said to-day.

- Ralph Waldo Emerson

Offline teethering

• 37% better than Slick
  • Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2016, 07:54:23 PM »
So my day job is writing highly targeted solutions for businesses, so whenever I get a chance to work with a design document I jump on it with both feet. My last job had a person who literally told us that the design document was "in her head" when we asked if we could write one. The place before that, I was able to write one. The current place has some documentation that we adhere and then don't adhere to. With this project with me, which again, I have not even begun to get off the ground, I've written down a pretty OK amount concerning what I want the "game board" (the model) to look like but a. since it's a one-man thing a lot of it's still in my own head, and b. I don't feel I'm good enough with Unity to really speak to how I'll render the view through the controller.

When you're working with multiple people, yeah, documentation is pretty great. I do seem to gravitate towards work environments that use Scrum, which maybe doesn't *quite* require you to have the same single robust design document that other techniques do, although at the very least if we have a story that requires a targeted solution we try to get use cases and, where possible, mockups (I'm a developer, not a designer). The issue I and I think others run into when they don't have a set document is that scope creep becomes a constant and ever-present thing.