Author Topic: My Quest to Avoid E-books is Getting Expensive  (Read 2620 times)

Offline Sawyer

• Seasoned Contributor
My Quest to Avoid E-books is Getting Expensive
« on: April 26, 2016, 10:20:46 PM »
Thanks to library book sales, I've been nabbing really cheap literature for the last few years.  This has helped me build an extensive library without hitting my pocketbook ... until now. I ran out of shelf space a month ago.  Rather than finally bite the bullet and buy a Kindle/Nook, I headed off to the hardware store and blew $55 on lumber, stain, and polyurethane.  And after about 6 hours of labor (I'm a slow carpenter) I now have a pretty new bookshelf!  Here it is unstocked, and with most of my science and sci fi books:

Unfortunately I also discovered how much basic engineering knowledge I've lost.  I forgot that tall structures are not as stable on soft carpet as they are on a concrete floor, and since I used full 1x10s on the back instead of thin plywood it easily tips backwards with a slight push.  If I'd stopped and thought about where the center of gravity was I would have seen this immediately.  Definitely not safe during an earthquake.  I now feel like I need to make another shelf just to overcome this minor mistake, thus wasting even more money and fossil fuels.

I know I should stop murdering trees and get a Kindle, but then how will I decorate my room to let everyone know I'm a pretentious nerd? 

Offline Drunken Idaho

• Natural Blonde
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • Comrade Questions
Re: My Quest to Avoid E-books is Getting Expensive
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2016, 10:27:05 PM »
I know I should stop murdering trees and get a Kindle, but then how will I decorate my room to let everyone know I'm a pretentious nerd?

This is now a "show off your bookshelves" thread. I demand to see your entire collection!
Strange women lying in ponds distributin' swords is no basis for a system of government.

Offline Sawyer

• Seasoned Contributor