Author Topic: lost deciduous teeth, saltwater rinse a myth?  (Read 10212 times)

Offline Bartmon

• Not Enough Spare Time
lost deciduous teeth, saltwater rinse a myth?
« Reply #30 on: August 28, 2007, 12:53:51 PM »
JurijD,

I don't disagree with you. Obviously you have more of an education in this field than I do. I was a trauma RN for five years and I did take microbiology in university, but I am no expert.

I'll bet that the reason for saltwater rinses is relatively mundane, and the idea that they 'cure' infections is a sacred cow/urban legend that's been passed down from generation to generation.

Bart
esus Never Existed

Offline Mrs. Schaarschmidt

• Keeps Priorities Straight
« Reply #31 on: August 28, 2007, 01:07:24 PM »
I don't know anything about medicine.  But I was always told it was the iodine in the salt that helped.  Table salt (the kind we always used to do saltwater) has iodine in it.  Could this be it?
f you go to sleep at night and you're not dead yet - you got through another day.
~~Mrs. Schaarschmidt~~

Offline skepticality

• Off to a Start
    • http://www.skepticality.com/
« Reply #32 on: August 28, 2007, 01:16:08 PM »
Ya,

I've had one of my dentists when I was a kid tell me to gargle with salt water when I had my eye teeth removed due to a deformity... I always thought it was a stupid idea... and never seemed to work... So, I go with the BS meter on this one...
erek Colanduno
Host/Producer - Skepticality The Official Podcast of Skeptic Magazine
http://www.skepticality.com/

Offline skidoo

• Stopped Going Outside
« Reply #33 on: August 28, 2007, 01:18:57 PM »
So what about my theory that a hypertonic solution will shrink the inflamed tissue, thereby causing some sort of relief (however minor)? Huh? Huh? Huh? :D

Offline kikyo

• Groovy Groovy Kitty
  • Stopped Going Outside
  • Chu! ^_^
« Reply #34 on: August 28, 2007, 02:53:18 PM »