Author Topic: Episode #591  (Read 2006 times)

Offline samsarasurrender

• Brand New
Re: Episode #591
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2016, 11:53:33 AM »
I'm interested in the 'scared straight' news item from that school in Wisconsin.  I understand a little about the psychology of persuasion and what works, but where I'm missing understanding is on why programs like this don't work (or is it just that the tradeoff of the message is too traumatic?). Don't get me wrong, I am not advocating for it -- on the surface it seems very misguided.  I just want to understand the mechanics of it.

Offline chocolate_dreamer

• Brand New
Scared straight news item
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2016, 02:06:01 PM »
I finally feel qualified to comment on something! I'm a music teacher with a master's degree licensed by my state to teach K-12 instrumental and classroom music

The panel commented as part of this story are that schools should be using evidence based practices, which I totally agree with. However, in my experience (anecdote warning!) teaching in schools, I don't feel most teachers are equipped to understand what evidence based practices are. My teacher education didn't include anything about analyzing research or anything about evidence based practices. The only classes I had in this area were the final 2 classes I took before earning my master's degree - on research methods and writing my capstone research project....not something directly related to classroom practices.