Author Topic: Tech Woes  (Read 5510 times)

Offline jt512

• Frequent Poster
    • jt512
Re: Tech Woes
« Reply #165 on: October 15, 2019, 02:44:59 AM »
I'm with this guy (well, right up to the last two paragraphs anyway). In other words, I'm a programmer who hates vi(m) (either one, and all their children, and their children's children), and have somehow never even seen emacs, to which I'm therefore 100% indifferent. For reasons explained elsewhere, I feel fine about these particular life choices. In my experience, though, we seem to be in the minority. That would be a "fine, to each his own" type of thing, were it not for the fact that, when you write code this subject pops up from time to time (including recently), and some of the people who love these editors seem to have a kind of cult-like mentality. Many of the vi extremists I've talked to appear to be convinced that using vi(m) (or, in some cases, emacs) will make one a better programmer than using an IDE, because "I can write code faster" (mostly irrelevant, given that writing lots of code is not the point of doing good programming work, and only true under some circumstances) or "I know more function names by heart" (not necessarily true, but even if it is, how exactly does that help you become a better programmer?). I don't begrudge them the use of their favorite editor, of course, but all I can say is, based on literally every interaction I've had with it (which is more than a few times, but less than a ton) I am pretty confident that vi came directly out of Satan's butthole on a day the Dark One had a bad case of food poisoning. This (just one such example) is just pure evil:

So, what languages do you program in, and what development environments or editors do you use to code in those languages?
Ich verstehe nur Bahnhof.

Online stochastibot

• Off to a Start
« Reply #166 on: October 15, 2019, 03:04:58 AM »