Author Topic: is there really any evidence acetaminophen works for pain  (Read 2188 times)

Offline jgeller

• Brand New
is there really any evidence acetaminophen works for pain
« on: December 02, 2017, 04:07:09 PM »
HI,
Long time podcast listener....  just joined today...  I am a physician and I recently was made aware that there is little evidence that tylenol is more effective than placebo for pain.  I am did not conduct a thorough evaluation, but i couldn't find anything of substance to support tylenol for back pain.  Has anyone taken a look at this before?  Another concern is that many other pain therapies frequently compare themselves to tylenol so if tylenol's efficacy is not valid there could be a house of cards effect...

thanks
Jeff 

Offline daniel1948

• Happy Man in a Boat
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • I'd rather be paddling
Re: is there really any evidence acetaminophen works for pain
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 04:18:18 PM »
Welcome to the forums, jgeller.

I have no evidence, but I believe that acetaminophen provides me with some relief of pain when I have a headache. This could be placebo effect, but I do think it actually helps. For joint pain, not so much. I use Ibuprofen or naproxen for joint pain. Nothing much seems to help me for back pain other than stretching. I imagine opioids would work, though I've never taken opioids for back pain. I have not had access to them the times I've had back pain that lasted long enough for me to be that desperate.

BTW, you posted this in "Member Creations." It should have been posted in Health, Fitness, Nutrition, and Medicine.

I'd suggest emailing a mod to move it.
Daniel
----------------
"Anyone who has ever looked into the glazed eyes of a soldier dying on the battlefield will think long and hard before starting a war."
-- Otto von Bismarck

Offline Tatyana

• Frequent Poster
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 06:03:48 PM »