Author Topic: Episode #649  (Read 4445 times)

Offline The Latinist

• Cyber Greasemonkey
  • Technical Administrator
  • Too Much Spare Time
Re: Episode #649
« Reply #45 on: December 22, 2017, 10:36:47 PM »
That was my suspicion, Daniel.  You must understand that many people—probably a majority—cannot possibly understand your perspective on this any more than you can understand ours.  And the same goes for associations of events with people and relationships.  I understand how your mind works only intellectually; it’s something I accept but not something I can possibly relate to or imagine.

In my work as a teacher I have many students who lie at various places on what’s now called the Autism Spectrum. Part of what We work to teach these students to do is understand at least intellectually the minds of others that don’t work like theirs.  We try to teach them that even if they don’t value certain social niceties or understand the importance of things like relationships and the association of memories with people and places, they need to live in a world where many people do value these things. We’re not trying to change them, but to help them learn to navigate social interactions with their minds even when the don’t understand them intuitively.