Author Topic: Episode #656  (Read 8419 times)

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Re: Episode #656
« Reply #15 on: February 04, 2018, 11:22:12 AM »
Brian did not get commissions other affiliates would have gotten. The cookies only paid out if the user went to eBay directly from the page with Dunning’s ad.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline jsandlin

• Triskaidekaphilic
    • http://www.switchtech.us
« Reply #16 on: February 04, 2018, 02:15:46 PM »
Driverless cars are not like chauffeured cars. One, these chauffeured cars in the study were free to the riders. Two, the driver didn't just park nearby in all cases, like getting the child. They drove from home to the kid and brought them home, because the parents might need the ride, so keeping the car where the most riders were based was optimal. The economy of driverless cars will likely include a fairly sizable fleet of driverless taxis that park near each previous destination and pick up new fares nearby, reducing travel distances. You'll have your personal vehicle, but without the need to pay a driver, taxi fares will be lower, perhaps low enough to buy a monthly ride card, similar to what we can have now in public transit. So, with these possibilities not yet vetted, it is nearly impossible to estimate the real impact on real time traffic.

Next, battery waste. With the current trend in new purchases of personal electric cars, we'll be having that increase of battery waste whether the cars are driverless or not. We have to hope that the battery technology that will allow batteries to be recharged thousands or hundreds of thousands of times, which will potentially reduce the currently expected battery waste, will actually come to fruition.