Author Topic: Amelia Earhart's remains identified -- For real?  (Read 7554 times)

Online CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Re: Amelia Earhart's remains identified -- For real?
« Reply #45 on: March 08, 2018, 07:39:28 PM »
According to the hypothesis that some bones that were roughly the right size were hers ...

Not roughly, they're fairly precise.

gosh it would be cool if we found them, so let's hypothesize that Earhart and Noonan didn't actually know where they were...

That's actually not something that needs to be hypothesized. They didn't have a clue.

They were lost because they got lost.

(I don't think there's much doubt about that, the questions are how far off course were they and is it possible they made it to Gardner Island, and died there.)
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Online CarbShark

« Reply #46 on: March 08, 2018, 07:45:44 PM »
That was simply the source for explaining what the hypotheses is. The first step should be to fully understand what the claims being made are.

While the Wings Over Kansas page makes for interesting read, that's not exactly high quality evidence either.

Signal Strength Five is supported by many sources

http://coastguard.dodlive.mil/2012/07/itasca-the-search-for-amelia-earhart/
The original log use the description "Signal Strength Very Good" when discussing the Electra circling (0758)
Personally I think the Coast Guard article is the most plausible of what occurred.

The Coast Guard article indicates the search area reached as far as Arorai Island, which is a lot further from Howland than Nikumaroro.

EDIT: And as far west as Tarawa Island, which is even further away.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2018, 07:47:56 PM by CarbShark »

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Online CarbShark

« Reply #47 on: March 08, 2018, 11:46:13 PM »