Author Topic: Episode #664  (Read 3834 times)

Online CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Episode #664
« Reply #15 on: April 04, 2018, 01:56:53 AM »
You are bot confusing placebo with the placebo effect.

https://www.webmd.com/pain-management/what-is-the-placebo-effect

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline daniel1948

• Happy Man in a Boat
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • I'd rather be paddling
Re: Episode #664
« Reply #16 on: April 04, 2018, 09:09:16 AM »

According to Mark Crislip, that "effect" does not exist. Actual clinical symptoms do not improve. People report feeling better, but when their clinical signs are measured, there is no improvement.
Daniel
----------------
"Anyone who has ever looked into the glazed eyes of a soldier dying on the battlefield will think long and hard before starting a war."
-- Otto von Bismarck

Offline Ah.hell

« Reply #17 on: April 04, 2018, 09:26:47 AM »

According to Mark Crislip, that "effect" does not exist. Actual clinical symptoms do not improve. People report feeling better, but when their clinical signs are measured, there is no improvement.
I saw him give a presentation on this and was quite surprised by it.  I believe it is debatable frankly.  Some folks, even skeptics think the evidence indicates an actual effect and other agree with Dr Crislip, that its only a perceived effect.

Online CarbShark

Episode #664
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2018, 09:43:15 AM »
Two things. He has the same definition of placebo effect as I do and most everyone else, he simply believes it doesn’t exist.

Second he freely admits he’s in the minority, even among his fellow SBM bloggers. Nothing wrong with that, of course, he may be right.

Personally, I think in some contexts there is an actual effect but in others, no.

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/the-placebo-myth/