Author Topic: Episode #671  (Read 10041 times)

Offline Mr. Beagle

• Stopped Going Outside
    • When God Plays DIce
Re: Episode #671
« Reply #30 on: May 27, 2018, 08:14:22 PM »
I have seen the green clouds. I would characterize it as a color artifact or effect from very deep, water laden clouds. In Iowa it means that a hell of a storm is coming.
Mister Beagle
The real world is tri-color
now blogging at http://godplaysdice.com

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
« Reply #31 on: May 28, 2018, 12:18:05 AM »

I have seen green clouds
Deep, dark and water laden
A storm is coming

Now it's a haiku.
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline elert

• Off to a Start
    • The Physics Hypertextbook
« Reply #32 on: May 28, 2018, 01:33:28 PM »
I heard, sometime in the distant past, that green skies during severe weather were caused by large pieces of ice (i.e., hailstones). I heard that once and have not bothered to verify it. Just throwing it out to the forum in case it triggers helpful thoughts in someone else.

Also, photons do not have mass and Woody Allen never said they did.

Photons do have mass (equivalent).  Mass is energy and energy is mass.  It’s estimated that the cosmic microwave background photons amount to around 0.1% of the mass of the Universe.

I’ve found references on the Internet to Woody Allen uttering the quotation, and of course everything on the Internet is true, right?

Equivalent mass is not mass any more than equivalent color temperature is temperature. You can't replace the equivalent mass of a photon into any equation that I can think of in relativity. Unless you multiply it by the speed of light squared to get energy back again, which is 2 errors canceling each other out.