Author Topic: Survey Shows Most Evangelicals Don’t Understand the Core Beliefs of Their Faith  (Read 2900 times)

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
It’s only relatively recently that the Catholic Church stopped doing all its masses in Latin.

They never expected the congregation to really know the full doctrine.

All Christians pick and choose which part of the doctrine they accept, they have to because there are so many internal contradictions you can’t accept them all.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline Ah.hell

It’s only relatively recently that the Catholic Church stopped doing all its masses in Latin.
Only in comparison to the age of the Catholic Church.  They've been doing vernacular mass for at least 50 years.  But that's a minor nit.

Is anyone really surprised that fundies don't generally understand their own doctrine?

Offline CarbShark

Only in comparison to the age of the Catholic Church.  They've been doing vernacular mass for at least 50 years.  But that's a minor nit.

Is anyone really surprised that fundies don't generally understand their own doctrine?

Seems like yesterday to some of us.

No surprise here. In fact I'd say they often interpret their own doctrine to mean the opposite of what was intended.

Wealthy Christians? Really?

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline daniel1948

• Isn’t a
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • I'd rather be paddling
Seems like yesterday to some of us.

Yep, sure does. Good old John XXIII

Daniel
----------------
"Anyone who has ever looked into the glazed eyes of a soldier dying on the battlefield will think long and hard before starting a war."
-- Otto von Bismarck

Online The Latinist

• Cyber Greasemonkey
  • Technical Administrator
  • Too Much Spare Time