Author Topic: Training/Certification  (Read 338 times)

Offline The Latinist

• Cyber Greasemonkey
  • Technical Administrator
  • Reef Tank Owner
Training/Certification
« on: February 11, 2019, 01:38:34 PM »
As I think I've mentioned before, I've sort of inherited some additional responsibilities at my place of work, including serving as a de facto sysadmin (we have an independent contractor who handles infrastructure stuff, but I'm dealing with the day-to-day issues).  We have a domain controller for accounts, Google Apps for email, a Windows file server, HP switches, a Fortigate firewall, and an Aruba WiFi network.  I've been doing this for a couple of years, now, and learning a lot on-the-job, but I'm still really weak in network stuff (routing tables, etc.) and I'm looking to get some professional development in the area. I've got a couple of questions for those who are more in the know:

What kind of classes should I be looking into?
Is it worth getting certified in anything? If so, what?
How portable will any skills I learn be?
What sort of time commitment should I expect?

And of course what else should I know that I haven't asked about?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 01:56:18 PM by The Latinist »
I would like to propose...that...it is undesirable to believe in a proposition when there is no ground whatever for supposing it true. — Bertrand Russell

Offline Soldier of FORTRAN

• Reef Tank Owner
  • Cache rules everything around me.
Re: Training/Certification
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 03:08:13 PM »
I can comment on classes.

At my local community college,
  • Networking I, II → CCENT
  • Networking III, IV → CCNA
The texts are composed of test objectives and Routing & Switching general concepts.  I expect this is typical. 

If you can set-up a lab environment, you can probably self-train using any CCNA-oriented training materials.
If global warming is real then how come I just felt this chill down my spine?

Offline moj