Author Topic: Episode #717  (Read 3494 times)

Offline Steven Novella

• SGU Panel Member
  • Well Established
    • http://www.theskepticsguide.org
Episode #717
« on: April 06, 2019, 03:58:25 PM »
News Items: Fossils from the KT, Brain Scans as Evidence, Mars Methane Mystery, AI Designed Materials; Who’s That Noisy; Your Questions and E-mails: NASA Space Suits, Flat Earth Fail; Science or Fiction
Steven Novella
Host, The Skeptics Guide
snovella@theness.com

Offline skepticahjumma

• Off to a Start
Re: Episode #717
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2019, 10:37:49 PM »
I am a criminal defense lawyer by profession. I found the part about brain scans and criminality to be very interesting. On a practical matter, in my jurisdiction, and I think in most jurisdictions, juries are not told the sentence that a defendant is facing. Nor can a jury choose to sentence someone to hospitalization over jail. To my knowledge, most juries have nothing to do with sentencing.

The use of brain scans in a criminal trial would be a doubled edged sword. On the one hand, a defendant could argue that she has a neurological or other predisposition to behave in a certain way, and so she may be less culpable for her act. And yet, a brain scan could also be used for positive or negative to show a defendant is more/less likely to have committed the offense. I can’t figure any rule of evidence that would allow a brain scan to be used in a trial to show that person has a propensity to commit a certain crime.