Author Topic: Historical inaccuracies most people believe because of popular culture  (Read 1280 times)

Offline Noisy Rhysling

• Stopped Going Outside
    • Hyperwar, WWII in Hypertext.
One major historical inaccuracy is that the ACW was monocausal.  ::)
"Sunday's horoscope is note worthy because of its strange, sudden and wholly unpredictable and inexplicable occurrences, affecting all phases of life." Your Horoscope" L.A. Evening Herald Express, Sat, 12/06/41

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Slavery. That was the cause. If that weren’t an issue there would have been no war.

Nothing before or since has divided the country as much and each and every other possible cause was immeshed in slavery.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline Noisy Rhysling

• Stopped Going Outside
Slavery. That was the cause. If that weren’t an issue there would have been no war.

Nothing before or since has divided the country as much and each and every other possible cause was immeshed in slavery.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Like I said.
"Sunday's horoscope is note worthy because of its strange, sudden and wholly unpredictable and inexplicable occurrences, affecting all phases of life." Your Horoscope" L.A. Evening Herald Express, Sat, 12/06/41

Offline Paul Blevins Jr.

• Keeps Priorities Straight

It is pretty interesting to think about how many inaccuracies the majority of the public holds about historical events come from movies about said events. But you weigh that against the public never really knowing about those events at all. Which is better? Does it actually matter in most cases?

--World War Two began with Pearl Harbor on 12/07/41

--All the Roman Empire did was hold gladiator fights and crucify Christ

--Columbus made landfall n continental America.