Author Topic: Enough with the individual strategies, let's make a top 10 list of argument maps  (Read 837 times)

Offline DanDanDan

• Not Enough Spare Time
what is the actual, sanctioned-by-profesional-deprogrammers, step by step technique for disillusioning a person of a vested belief in a fundamentally bad idea?

Stay away from "professional deprogrammers." Those people are abusive, violent criminals.
Good point, but I'll admit that I'm still curious about the non-torturous techniques they use.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Logic goes first, ideas go later, because ideologies can all go awry.

Offline DanDanDan

• Not Enough Spare Time
For now I'm recommending that folks try out https://www.rationaleonline.com/ for creating argument maps. I'm start with the free trial, and it's $30/6 mo for a subscription. I'm new to argument mapping, so there's a good chance that I'll recommend a different tool eventually.

On argument mapping, I'll post this from the wikipedia article:
There is empirical evidence that the skills developed in argument-mapping-based critical thinking courses substantially transfer to critical thinking done without argument maps. Alvarez's meta-analysis found that such critical thinking courses produced gains of around 0.70 SD, about twice as much as standard critical-thinking courses.[44] The tests used in the reviewed studies were standard critical-thinking tests.

Offline DanDanDan

• Not Enough Spare Time

Offline DanDanDan

• Not Enough Spare Time
Pardon the absence, but i finally have time to map out my first argument and I could use the wisdom of the masses.

I've decided to make the contention "antivaxers use con-man tactics". Or, more generically, it could be "antivaxers can't be trusted" instead.

Now I need a top 3 of reasons to support that with 2 pieces of evidence per reason.