Author Topic: Earthquakes  (Read 1015 times)

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Re: Earthquakes
« Reply #15 on: July 04, 2019, 08:46:53 PM »
Landers was the night of my cousin’s wedding in Newport Beach, Orange County.

There were two major, unrelated earthquakes that night.

That was exciting.

Next morning we took all the kids to Disneyland and had the place to ourselves until about 1 pm when the crowds came back.

Space Mountain and the Matterhorn. We’re shut down.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Online arthwollipot

• Reef Tank Owner
  • Observer of Phenomena
« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2019, 09:07:58 PM »
We had an earthquake once.

Self-described nerd. Pronouns: He/Him.

Tarvek: There's more to being an evil despot than getting cake whenever you want it.
Agatha: If that's what you think, then you're DOING IT WRONG!

Offline daniel1948

• Isn’t a
  • Reef Tank Owner
  • I'd rather be paddling
« Reply #17 on: July 04, 2019, 09:15:19 PM »
I didn't feel it. I was on the ocean, and 2,500 miles away ;D

I was in Tecate, BC, Mexico when I felt an earthquake. My first impression was that a worker with a small motorized cart had bumped my cabin. But the shaking continued. I said to myself, "I think this is an earthquake. You're supposed to go outside when there's an earthquake." So I went out onto my patio. The shaking didn't last long. The epicenter was about 90 miles east, IIRC. No damage. Some aftershocks were reported but I didn't feel them.

You are not supposed to go outside during an earthquake. Anything on the roof our outside walls of your building could fall as your going through the door. It's safer to stay inside until the shaking stops, wait a few seconds, then go outside.

If you're outside that's the safest place usually, as long as you're not near any collapsing structures.