Author Topic: Earthquakes  (Read 832 times)

Offline CarbShark

• Poster of Extraordinary Magnitude
Re: Earthquakes
« Reply #30 on: July 06, 2019, 07:04:37 PM »
Would that make yesterday's quake a beforeshock, where rumbles now are aftershocks?

The 6.5 is now a foreshock. And there were smaller foreshocks before that one.

And there are lot's of aftershocks now, but they are all aftershocks of the 7.1.

And there is fear that the 7.1 itself could be a foreshock for an even bigger break on the San Andreas fault, which could be "the big one"

"Looks like another perfect day"

(Did you see footage of the Dodger game where they through three pitches during the shaking?)
and Donald Trump is President of the United States.

I'm not a doctor, I'm just someone who has done a ton of research into diet and nutrition.

Offline brilligtove

• Too Much Spare Time
  • Ignorance can be cured. Stupidity, you deal with.
« Reply #31 on: July 06, 2019, 08:09:57 PM »
Foreshock sounds so much better that beforeshock. Neat.
evidence trumps experience | performance over perfection | responsibility – authority = scapegoat | emotions motivate; data doesn't

Offline stands2reason

• Empiricist, Positivist, Militant Agnostic
« Reply #32 on: July 06, 2019, 10:44:17 PM »
Never lived anywhere seismically active. All I know about earthquakes is what I saw on Mythbusters. If you haven't that episode, it's great. They show how an earthquake disintegrates masonry (block/brick). Because, you know, it shakes the mortor loose. You do not want to be inside of that kind of building during or after an earthquake.

There was an iconic collapse of a 6 or 8 story brick apartment building (IIRC) In the SF quake of 1906. Now that was lack of foresight, or desperation.

Offline CarbShark

Earthquakes
« Reply #33 on: July 07, 2019, 02:16:24 AM »